Max Verstappen wins Formula One world title

Max Verstappen have won his first “Formula One (F1) world title”, leaving behind Lewis Hamilton, at Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Who is Max Verstappen?

Max Emilian Verstappen is a Belgian-Dutch racing driver, who is currently competing in Formula One with Red Bull Racing, under the Dutch flag. He became the youngest driver to compete in Formula One at 2015 Australian Grand Prix. He was 17 years old then. At the 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, he became the first Dutch driver to win Formula One Championship. He has become the 34th Formula One World Drivers’ Champion. He is the son of former F1 driver Jos Verstappen.

Other wins by him

As of 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Verstappen has achieved 19 more victories. It includes first for a Honda-powered driver since 2006. In 2019 and 2020 championships, he finished in third place.

Verstappen at Red Bull

Verstappen at Red Bull is due to remain until the end of 2023 season, following a contract extension.

About Formula One

Formula one is the highest class of international auto racing, organised for single-seater formula racing cars. It is sanctioned by the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). FIA Formula One World Championship was earlier known as World Drivers’ Championship, till 1981. It has been one of the premier forms of racing worldwide, since its first season in 1950.

Grand Prix

Formula One season comprises of a series of races, called as Grands Prix. Grand Prix take place worldwide for the purposes of built circuits and closed public roads.




Latest E-Books