Malcolm Turnbull sworn in as Prime Minister of Australia

Malcolm Turnbull was sworn as Prime Minister of Australia for second term after a narrow victory in the federal election. He became the 29th Prime Minister of the country.
He was administered oath to the office by Governor-General Peter Cosgrove, Queen Elizabeth II’s representative in Australia.

  • In the 2016 Australian federal election, Liberal/National Coalition led by Malcolm Turnbull had won a one-seat majority of 76 seats in the 150-seat House of Representatives.
  • While the opposition Labor Party won 69 seats. The 2016 federal election was a double dissolution election to elect members of the 45th Parliament of Australia.

About Malcolm Turnbull

  • Prior to entering politics, Malcolm Turnbull had worked as a lawyer, journalist, investment banker and venture capitalist.
  • He started political career in 2004 after he was elected as Member of Parliament from Wentworth. He still represents it.
  • In September 2015, he became the Prime Minister of Australia by succeeding Tony Abbott. He became PM after defeating Abbott in internal party leadership ballot of the Liberal Party.
  • In the Tony Abbott’s government he was the Minister for Communications from September 2013 to September 2015.
  • Previously, he had served as Minister for the Environment and Water in the Howard Government in 2007.
  • Later in September 2008, he was elected Leader of the Liberal Party and become Leader of the Opposition.



Latest E-Books