Malcolm Turnbull sworn in as Australia's new Prime Minister

Malcolm Turnbull has sworn-in as Australia’s new Prime Minister.
He became the 29th Prime Minister of the country and was administered oath to the office by Governor-General Peter Cosgrove.
Turnbull succeeded Tony Abbott after defeating him in internal party leadership ballot of the ruling centre-right Liberal Party.

About Malcolm Turnbull

  • Prior to entering politics, Malcolm Turnbull had worked as a lawyer, journalist, investment banker and venture capitalist.
  • In 1993, he became the Chair of the Australian Republican Movement and served in the position until 2000.
  • His political career in 2004 after he was elected as Member of Parliament from Wentworth. He still represents it.
  • Previously he had served as Minister for the Environment and Water in the Howard Government in 2007.
  • Later in September 2008, he was elected Leader of the Liberal Party and become Leader of the Opposition.
  • In the Tony Abbott’s government he was the Minister for Communications from September 2013 to September 2015.



Latest E-Books