Lewis Hamilton wins Formula One British Grand Prix

On 18th July, 2021, Lewis Hamilton of United Kingdom has won the Formula One British Grand Prix at Silverstone for a record eighth time. This was the 99th win of Hamilton’s career who has also won the world championship seven times.

Result of the race

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  2. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  3. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

Key Points

  • On the opening lap of the British Grand Prix held on Sunday Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen, were involved in a high speed collision as Hamilton tried to overtake the Verstappen. Hamilton’s front-left wheel touched Verstappen’s back-right tire. Due to this Verstappen spun off the track and crashed into the barriers. Later, Verstappen was seen walking away from his crashed car.
  • Due to the collision, Hamilton was given a time penalty but in a dramatic conclusion to the race he overtook Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc to secure his eighth British GP victory.

About British Grand Prix

The British Grand Prix is a motor race which is organised in the United Kingdom. This race is organised by the Royal Automobile Club. It was first held in the year 1926; since the year 1948 the British Grand Prix has been held annually and every year since 1950 it has been a round of the FIA Formula One World Championship.




Latest E-Books