KV Chowdary appointed as new Central Vigilance Commissioner

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed KV Chowdary new Central Vigilance Commissioner.
He was appointed by President on the recommendation of Select committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprising of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh  as well as Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Mallikarjuna Kharge.
He is 1978-batch IRS officer of the Income Tax cadre. He also had served as Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), an apex authority of the Indian Income Tax department.
Prior to this appointment Mr. Chowdary was working as the adviser to the Supreme Court-appointed Special Investigation Team which is probing black money cases.

About Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)

  • CVC was set up by the Union Government in February 1964 on the recommendations of the K. Santhanam Committee on Prevention of Corruption.
  • The CVC is an apex body of Union Government formed to address governmental corruption.
  • It has the status of statutory autonomous body and free of control from any executive authority as per the provisions of Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) Act, 2003.
  • The CVC is headed by a Central Vigilance Commissioner and has two Vigilance Commissioners.
  • Appointment: Central Vigilance Commissioner and has two Vigilance Commissioners are appointed by President on the recommendations of select committee comprising of Prime Minister as Chairperson, Union Minister of Home Affairs and Leader of the second largest party in the Lok Sabha or majority group leader in parliament.
  • Functions: To monitor all vigilance activity under the Union Government and advise various authorities in Union Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilance work.
  • Nittoor Srinivasa Rau was the first Chief Vigilance Commissioner of India.



Latest E-Books