Infosys Prize 2018: 6 professors awarded for science and research

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) occasion of its 10th anniversary announced six winners of the Infosys Prize 2018 in the six different categories of the award. They were selected from 244 nominations by six-member jury of renowned scientists and professors.

2018 Recipients are

Engineering and Computer Science: Navakanta Bhat. He is Professor at Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. He was awarded for his work on design of novel biosensors based on his research in biochemistry and gaseous sensors that push the performance limits of existing metal-oxide sensors.
Humanities: Kavita Singh. She is Dean, School of Arts & Aesthetics, Jawaharlal Nehru University. She was awarded for her illuminating study of Mughal, Rajput and Deccan art.
Life Sciences: Roop Mallik. He is associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR). He was awarded for his work on molecular motor proteins, which are crucial for the functioning of living cells.
Mathematical Sciences: Nalini Anantharaman. She is Professor and Chairman of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Strasbourg, France. She was awarded the prize in Mathematical Sciences for her work related to ‘Quantum Chaos.’
Physical Sciences: SK Satheesh. He is Professor, Centre for Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences, IISc Bangalore. He was awarded for his pioneering scientific work in the field of climate change.
Social Sciences: Sendhil Mullainathan. He is professor of Computation and Behavioral Science, the University of Chicago in the US. He was awarded for his path-breaking work in behavioural economics.

Infosys Prize

Infosys Prize is an annual award bestowed upon researchers, scientists, social scientists and engineers in India by the Infosys Science Foundation (ISF). It is given to six categories Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences and Humanities. The award intends to celebrate success in research and stand as a marker of excellence in these fields. Each category awardee receives 22-carat gold medallion, a citation certificate and prize money of US $100,000. It is one of the highest monetary awards in India that recognizes the scientific research.




Latest E-Books