Indonesia’s Corruption Eradication Commission wins “Ramon Magsaysay Award”

Indonesia’s Corruption Eradication Commission has been conferred with the Ramon Magsaysay Award for its successful campaign against corruption in Indonesia.

What is the special achievement of the Corruption Eradication Commission of Indonesia?

The Corruption Eradication Commission or KPK as it is generally known in Indonesia, has prosecuted nearly 100 government officials and others since its first investigations in 2003 and has a perfect conviction record.

Other Magsaysay Award winners for 2013:
  • Ernesto Domingo: A pioneering doctor from the Philippines
  • Lahpai Seng Raw: Aid worker in Myanmar
  • Habiba Sarabi: Afghanistan’s only female governor
  • Shakti Samuha: Anti-trafficking organization in Nepal.
About Ramon Magsaysay Award:

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation was named after third president of the Philippines and an Asian equivalent of the Nobel Prize.  The Magsaysay awards have been granted annually since 1958 to people and organizations for excellent public service and integrity.