Indian Historian Sanjay Subrahmanyam wins the Dan David Prize

Indian historian Sanjay Subrahmanyam has won prestigious Dan David Prize of Israel for the year 2019 for his work on inter-cultural encounters between Asians, Europeans and people of North and South America during the early modern era.
Sanjay Subrahmanyam shares the award in the category of ‘past time dimension’ with Prof Kenneth Pomeranz of the University of Chicago.

Dan David Prize

The Dan David Prize is a joint international award given by the Dan David Foundation headquartered at Tel Aviv University. The award was instituted by late Dan David, an international businessman and philanthropist who envisioned a project that would extend beyond traditional academic categorisations.
The Dan David Prize is awarded under three categories namely:

  • Past category is generally drawn from the fields of history, archaeology, palaeontology and biography.
  • Present from arts, media, policy and economics.
  • Future from one of the exact or natural sciences.

For the Year 2019, the awardees were chosen from the three categories for their work:

  • Macrohistory: Past category
  • Defending democracy: Present
  • Combating climate change: Future

The award in the “Present” category for “Defending Democracy” has been won by Reporters without Borders and Prof Michael Ignatieff.
The prize in the “future” category for combating climate change has been won by Christina Figueres, a Costa Rican diplomat
To encourage and foster new generations of scholars, the awardees are required to donate 10 per cent of their prize money towards scholarships for graduate or post-graduate researchers in their respective fields.



Latest E-Books