India joins 61 nations in WHO to identify Zoonotic source of COVID-19

On May 18, 2020, India joined 61 other countries in the World Health Organization to identify the source of COVID-19. China and US are not a part of the resolution.


The countries together moved a proposal at the WHO to identify zoonotic source. Only three permanent members of the United Nations Security Council have backed the resolution namely Russia, France and UK. The other countries to support the resolution includes South Korea, Japan, Australia, South Africa, India, New Zealand, etc.

From the SAARC countries, only India, Bhutan and Bangladesh have signed the resolution. Other members such as Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Nepal, Maldives and Afghanistan have not signed the resolution.


The step is important as the bigger economies, especially China and US are politicizing the origin of the virus.

Role of World Organization for Animal Health

The World Organization for Animal Health will conduct field missions to identify the zoonotic source of the virus.

World Organization of Animal Health

The organization was formerly called the OIE (Office International des Epizooties). It is an inter-governmental organization that supports, coordinates and promotes animal disease control.

What are Zoonotic sources?

The Zoonotic sources are animals from which the diseases can transmit to humans.




Latest E-Books