India extends Visa-on-Arrival facility to UAE nationals

India has now granted visa-on-arrival facility to the citizens of United Arab Emirates (UAE) with an aim to enhance people to people contacts and trade relations as well as strengthen strategic ties between the two countries. The move is a ‘special gesture’ for the UAE with whom India has a comprehensive strategic partnership.

Key Highlights

The visa-on-arrival facility for the nationals of UAE will be available for a period of up to 60 days (2 months) with double entry for tourism, business, medical purposes and conference. The facility came into effect on 16 November 2019.

This facility is available at six designated International Airports: Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad and Kolkata.

Eligibility: The visa-on-arrival facility will be available only to those UAE nationals who have earlier obtained an e-Visa or a normal paper visa for India. This eligibility condition is irrespective of whether person actually visited India or not.

Those UAE nationals visiting India for first time are advised to apply for e-Visa or a normal paper visa.  Moreover, Pakistan Origin UAE nationals will not be eligible for Visa-on-Arrival Scheme.

NOTE: Japan and South Korea are the other two countries whose citizens are offered visa-on-arrival facility by India. However, India extends e-Visa facility to around Citizens of 170 countries.




Latest E-Books