Inclusion of All eligible disabled persons under NFSA 2013

The Department of Food and Public Distribution of the Central Government of India has addressed the matter of including all eligible disabled persons under the National Food Security Act, NFSA 2013 to all State Governments and UTs.

Key highlights

  • All States and UTs have been asked for the inclusion of the eligible disabled persons as per the benchmark fixed for NFSA beneficiaries to the National Food Security Act and to ensure the quota of food grains under NFSA and Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana are met.
  • New ration cards will be issued to cover the uncovered considering the eligibility criteria.
  • The disabled with no ration will also have the benefits under the Atma Nirbhar Bharat package till its cessation.

What is the National Food Security Act, NFSA 2013?

It is an act of the parliament of India, signed in 2013, that aimed at providing subsidized food grains to almost two-thirds of the country’s population. It converts into the legal prerogative of other food security schemes viz. Midday Meal Scheme, ICDS scheme, and the PDS.

What is the Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana?

PMGKAY is a welfare program related to food security under the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution. The objective of the program is to provide food grain to the poor citizens of India through the Public Distribution System.




Latest E-Books