IMD released list of 169 new names of Tropical Cyclones

The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) has released 169 new names for the tropical cyclones in the Indian Ocean Region.


The names were contributed by 13 countries namely India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Thailand, Qatar, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Iran. The decision to create new list of cyclones was taken during the 45th session of Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC) held by World Meteorological Organization.

Rules in fixing names

The names should have the following rules

  • The proposed names should be neutral to cultures, politics, gender and religious beliefs
  • The name should not hurt the sentiments of the group of population in the world
  • The name should not be rude or cruel in nature
  • The PTC has rights to reject the names suggested by the countries
  • The name should be short with less than 8 characters and easy to pronounce.

Regional Specialize Meteorological Centre

The RSMC in New Delhi is responsible to name the cyclones in the region of Bay of Bengal and Arabian Sea. The suggestion of names of cyclones in these regions including Northern Indian is given by countries such as India, Bangladesh, Maldives, Myanmar, Pakistan, Oman, Sri Lanka and Thailand.




Latest E-Books