UP Government forms committee to implement farm loan waiver decision

The Uttar Pradesh government has constituted six-member committee to implement its decision of waving off farmers’ agricultural loan. It will be headed by Chief Secretary Rahul Bhatnagar. The committee has been asked to coordinate with Nationalized Banks, Government, Cooperative, and Rural Banks from where farmers have taken agro loans till March 2016 and formulate the strategy to implement the government’s decision.  It also has been asked to prepare a working plan to arrange financial support to the banks. Earlier in its first cabinet meeting, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath cabinet had decided to wave off farmer’s agricultural loan up to Rs. 1 lakh. It will benefit about 86 lakhs small and marginalized farmers of the state.


Latest E-Books