G7 Hiroshima Declaration calls for world without nuclear weapons

The Group of 7 (G-7) countries’ foreign ministers have issued Hiroshima Declaration that calls for a world without nuclear weapons.
The foreign ministers G-7 countries’ signed this joint declaration after meeting in Japan’s Hiroshima. G7 countries include Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, UK and US.
The declaration came as ministers wrap up their final day of meetings focused on global hotspot issues including terrorism and other security threats as well as instability in the Middle East and the refugee crisis.
Key facts

  • Hiroshima Declaration reaffirms commitment of G-7 countries’ to seek a safer world for all and create the conditions for a world without nuclear weapons to promote international stability.
  • It calls for creating the conditions without nuclear weapons in a way that promotes international stability.
  • It has citied North Korea’s repeated provocations as a key challenge to achieve the goal of safer world for all.
  • It also mentioned that the task is more complex due deteriorating security environment in a number of regions such as Syria and Ukraine.

Earlier, all the foreign delegates of G-7 countries’ including US Secretary of State John Kerry made a landmark visit to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park. The Park commemorates atomic bombing of the city by US on August 6, 1945.
G-7 Countries: It is a group of seven major advanced economies as reported by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Collectively they represent more than 64% of the net global wealth; very high Human Development Index and it also represent 46% of the global GDP.



Latest E-Books