Eritrea, Saint Kittis sign ISA Framework Agreement

Two new countries Eritrea and Saint Kitts and Nevis have signed the International Solar Alliance’s (ISA) Framework Agreement at the second Assembly of ISA held in New Delhi. With this the total number of countries who have so far signed the ISA framework agreement have reached to 83.

About International Solar Alliance (ISA)

The ISA is an Indian initiative which was launched by the Prime Minister of India and President of France on 30 November 2015, in Paris, France, on sidelines of COP-21.  This treaty-based inter-governmental organization is an alliance of 121 solar resource-rich sunshine countries lying fully or partially between tropic of cancer and tropic of capricorn as prospective members. The ISA is now perceived as key towards achieving 2030 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) and objectives of Paris Agreement on Climate Change.

Objectives: ISA aims to lower the cost of energy, increase investment in renewable energy, as well as train and share knowledge and technological know-how among the member countries. ISA’s overarching objective is to collectively address key common challenges to scaling up of solar energy in ISA member countries.

ISA Assembly: It is the supreme decision-making body of ISA. It gives directions on various administrative, financial and programme-related issues.

The second ISA Assembly was hosted by Union Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), and presided by MNRE Minister R K Singh who is also the President of ISA. Brune Poirson, the French Minister for Ecological and Inclusive Transition is the current co-president of ISA. The first ISA Assembly was held in October 2018.




Latest E-Books