“E-Dharti Geo Portal” launched

On October 21, 2020, the Union of Housing and Urban affairs minister Shri Hardeep Singh Puri launched the e-Dharti Geo Portal. The portal will integrate map and lease plans in the Management Information System. It will make the system Geographic Information System enabled, GIS enabled.


The Land and Development Office deals with more than 50000 residential, commercial, Industrial and institutional properties. Now with the launch of the portal the property certificate details and outline map of the property can be easily accessed online.

The portal is highly beneficial to the elderly public. It will help avoid unnecessary litigation. Also, the portal will help a purchaser to learn about the details of the property whether any law suit is pending in respect of the property.

What is property certificate?

It is usually created during purchase of a property. The property certificate provides information about the property to the purchaser and the lessee. This information about the property certificate can now be accessed by paying a nominal fee of thousand rupees.

 Geographic information system

It is a computerized system that captures, stores, checks and displays data related to the position of the earth. The system shows different details of data such as buildings streets and vegetation.

The Government of India has been taking several measures to map the land area in the country.

Swamitva scheme

The scheme was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. It stands for survey of villages and mapping with improvised technology in village area. The scheme will use latest technologies such as drones to measure the inhabited lands in villages and rural areas. The drones will provide data to create digital map of every property in each Indian village. Based on these data collected property cards are to be provided to the respective owners

In October 2020 the Prime Minister distributed 1st property cards under the svamitva scheme. The cards were distributed to villages in the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand and Karnataka.




Latest E-Books