Dinesh K Sarraf appointed as Chairman of PNGRB

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has appointed former CMD of ONGC Dinesh K Sarraf (60) as new Chairman of Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB). He replaces S Krishnan, who had demitted office in August 2015.
Besides, ACC also appointed S Rath, former director (exploration) of Oil India Ltd (OIL) as member of PNGRB. S S Chahar, former member of Cyber Appellate Tribunal was also appointed Member (Legal), PNGRB. They will have 5-year term or till the age of 65, whichever is earlier.

Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB)

PNGRB was established in 2006 under Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board Act, 2006. Its mandate is to regulate refining, transport and marketing of petroleum products. It also ensures enough supply across country, foster fair trade, protect consumer interest and authorise companies that will build and operate fuel pipelines.
The PNGRB consists of Chairperson, a Member (Legal) and three other members.  It also has power of civil court and bench comprising member (legal) and one or more members nominated by chairperson which decides on disputes arising among downstream companies or with outsiders.




Latest E-Books