Bill to merge UTs Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

The Government of India has planned to merge the Union Territories Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. The bill regarding the merging of the territories is to be tabled in Lok Sabha on November 29, 2019.


The Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill 2019 is being introduced for better administration and to check on duplications of various works. Though the territories are 35 km apart, they have had separate budgets and different secretariats.

The merged territory will be named Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu. The headquarters of the territory is to be located in Daman and Diu.

With the creation of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, there are nine UTs in India. With the new merger, the count will come down to eight.

Constitutional provisions

Article 3 of Indian Constitution provides insights into formation of new states and Union Territories. It includes increase in area, diminishing the area and altering the boundaries. The article allows the parliament to legislate on state formation.

The bills on state formation can be introduced in either of the houses. However, President’s assent on the bill is required before introduction.




Latest E-Books