Australia Open 2014: Stanislas Wawrinka won the Men’s title

Switzerland’s Stanislas Wawrinka won his first Grand Slam title with victory over an injury-hit Rafael Nadal in the Australian Open final. He defeated Rafael Nadal by 6-3, 6-2, 3-6, 6-3 in Melbourne. By this victory, he became the second Swiss man to win a Grand Slam singles title after 17-time champion Roger Federer.

The other winners of the Australia Open 2014
  • Women’s Singles: Li Na (China) won her first Australian Open title against first-time major finalist Dominika Cibulková (Slovakia)
  • Mixed doubles:  Kristina Mladenovic (Fra) & Daniel Nestor (Can) beat Sania Mirza (Ind) & Horia Tecau (Rou).
  • Men’s Doubles: Łukasz Kubot (Poland) and Robert Lindstedt (Sweden) took the men’s doubles title with a victory over Eric Butorac(USA) and Raven Klaseen (South Africa).
  • Women’s Doubles: Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci were the defending chanmpions and successfully defended their title, by defeating Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina in the final.

Note: The 2014 Australian Open is the 102nd edition of the tournament, held at MelbournePark in Melbourne, Australia.



Latest E-Books