Arvind Saxena appointed as acting Chairman of UPSC

Government has appointed Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) member Arvind Saxena as the acting Chairman of the commission. He will perform the duties of chairman of UPSC with effect from 20 June 2018 till further orders or till completion of his tenure in August, 2020. He will take over charge from incumbent Vinay Mittal who completes his term.
Arvind Saxena is 1978-batch Indian Postal Service officer. He was appointed as member of UPSC in May, 2015 after he completed his stint in Aviation Research Centre (ARC). He has previously worked in Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) after he joined it in 1988. He is specialised in study of strategic developments in neighbouring countries.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

UPSC is constitutional body that conducts prestigious civil services examination for Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS) and others. It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution of India. It consists of Chairman and ten Members, who are appointed and removed by President. The chairman and members of the Commission hold office for term of six years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Article 316 of Constitution deals with appointment and term of office of members.




Latest E-Books


  • Bhaskar


  • satish tyagi

    very nice