Andhra Pradesh notifies new state symbols after bifurcation

Andhra Pradesh Government notified its new state symbols after four year after bifurcation of undivided Andhra Pradesh in 2014 into two states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. These states symbols were notified by State department of environment, forest, science and technology.

New state symbols

State bird: Rose-ringed parakeet (Psittacula krameri). Locally known as Rama Chiluka.
State tree: Neem ( Azadirachta indica). Locally known Vepa Chettu.
State animal: Black-buck (Antilope cervicapra). Locally known as Krishna Jinka.
State flower: Jasmine (Jasminum officinale). Its adoption will promote jasmine, which is grown commercially in Guntur, Prakasam, Kurnool, Kadapa, Anantapur and Chittoor districts of state.

State symbols of Telangana

State bird: Indian Roller (coracias benghalensis) or Palapitta. It also state bird of Odisha and Karnataka.
State tree: Jammi Chettu (prosopis cineraria).
State animal: Jinka or spotted deer.
State flower: Tangidi Puvvu (senna auriculata). It is widely used in the state’s famous Bathukamma festival.



Latest E-Books