Achal Kumar Joti appointed as Chief Election Commissioner

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed election commissioner Achal Kumar Joti as the next Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). He will be the 21st CEC and shall succeed Nasim Zaidi.
He will continue as CEC till 17 January 2018. He had joined the three-member election commission as an election commissioner in May, 2015.

About Achal Kumar Joti

A K Joti is retired Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of 1975-batch. He had retired as the Gujarat Chief secretary in January, 2013. In his home cadre he had worked in various capacities, including as the chairman of the Kandla Port Trust (1999- 2004), managing director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd. (SSNNL). He also had served as the Secretary in the Industry, Revenue and Water Supply Departments in the State. He was also Gujarat Vigilance Commissioner.

Appointment of Election Commissioners

Election commission is multi member body and currently has three members including Chief Election Commissioner. They all are appointed by the President for a term which is fixed by the President.
Tenure: The service conditions and tenure of office of Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are determined by an act of parliament titled The Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners (Conditions of Service) Act, 1991. This act has fixed their term for 6 years or till age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
Power/salary: The Chief Election Commissioner and election commissioners have equal power and receive equal salary, allowances and other perquisites, which are similar to a judge of the Supreme Court. In case of difference of opinion amongst the Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioner, the matter is decided by the Commission by majority.




Latest E-Books