15th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA)

Screenshot_215th edition of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) informally known as the “Bollywood Oscars,” held in US for the first time. The ceremony was held at  the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa Bay, Florida,US. The 2014 IIFA Awards honoured the best films of 2013, took place between April 23-26, 2014. Bhaag Milkha Bhaag was awarded the most awards (14).
Hollywood star John Travolta was also awarded at the ceremony for his outstanding contribution to International cinema.


Popular Awards

  • Best Film: Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Director: Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra– Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Actor In A Leading Role: Farhan Akhtar – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag as Milkha Singh
  • Best Actress In A Leading Role: Deepika Padukone – Chennai Express as Meenalochni Azhagusundaram
  • Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Aditya Roy Kapur – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani as Avinash “Avi” Arora
  • Best Actress In A Supporting Role: Divya Dutta – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag as Ishri Kaur
  • Male Debutant Star: Dhanush – Raanjhanaa as Kundan Shankar
  • Female Debutant Star: Vaani Kapoor – Shuddh Desi Romance as Tara
  • Best Performance In A Comic Role: Arshad Warsi – Jolly LLB as Jagdish Tyagi (Jolly)
  • Best Performance In A Negative Role: Rishi Kapoor– Aurangzeb as DCP Ravikant, HPS
  • Best Story: Prasoon Joshi – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Musical awards

  • Best Music Direction: Aashiqui 2 – Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari, Jeet Ganguly
  • Best Lyrics: Tum Hi Ho from Aashiqui 2 – Mithoon
  • Best Male Playback Singer: Ankit Tiwari for Sunn Raha Hai;– Aashiqui 2
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Shreya Ghoshal for Sunn Raha Hai – Aashiqui 2
  • Best Sound Design: Nakul Kamte – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Background Score: Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Technical awards

  • Best Action: Sham Kaushal & Tony Ching Siu Tung – Krrish 3
  • Best Special Effects: Keitan Yadav & Haresh Hingorani (Red Chillies VFX) – Krrish 3
  • Best Choreography: Remo D’souza – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
  • Best Cinematography: Binod Pradhan – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Costume Design: Dolly Ahluwalia – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Dialogue: Prasoon Joshi – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Editing: P. S. Bharti – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Makeup: Vikram Gaikwad – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Production Design: Wasiq Khan – Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela
  • Best Screenplay: Prasoon Joshi – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Sound Mixing: Anup Dev – Chennai Express, Debajit Changmai – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
  • Best Sound Recording: Vinod Verma for Lungi Dance – Chennai Express




Latest E-Books