12 Railway Zones free of unmanned level crossings on broad gauge routes: Indian Railways

Indian Railway has eliminated all Unmanned Level Crossings (UMLCs) on Broad Gauge routes (rails separated by 1676 mm or 1.67m of distance) from 12 of its total 16 zones. These 12 zones are Central Railway, Eastern Railway, East Coast Railway, East Central Railway, North Eastern Railway, Southern Railway, North East Frontier Railway, South Central Railway, South Eastern Railway, South East Central Railway and West Central Railway.

Key Facts

Out of total of 3,479 UMLCs on broad gauge routes still existing till April 2018, 3,402 have been eliminated in. The balance 77 UMLCs have also been planned to be eliminated by December 2018. Most of UMLCs that have been eliminated are either by provision of subway, road under bridges or by manning. All UMLCs on routes having speed more than 130KMPH and on Sub-urban routes have been eliminated. By elimination of UMLCs on war footing, accidents have reduced from 65 in 2009-10 to 3 in 2018-19.



Latest E-Books