December 15, 2013

Special Category States

The Special Category states was introduced in 1969. So far extended to 11 states including seven North East states viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura

October 1, 2012

Kelkar Committe report made public

The Kelkar’s committee’s recommendations were made public by the government for an informal debate by the stakeholders. The committee has suggested bold reform measures.  Kelkar Committe: A 3-member committee

September 13, 2012

CRR should be reduced: C Rangarajan

The Prime Minister’s Economic Advisory Council Chairman, C Rangarajan, has opined to reduce the use of CRR and suggested that it should be used only in extraordinary circumstances. As

August 9, 2012

India growth forecast slashed: CRISIL

Rating agency CRISIL has slashed India’s growth forecast to 5.5%. It is the second cut for fiscal 2013 estimate. Earlier, the agency had cut GDP growth to 6.5%. Deficient