Anup Chandra Pandey appointed as Election Commissioner

Union government has appointed Anup Chandra Pandey, as Election Commissioner. He is a retired IAS officer if 1984 batch from Uttar Pradesh cadre. He will serve the office for around three years and will retire in February 2024.


  • He has been appointed to position after retirement of former Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora.
  • Thus, Election Commission now restores to its full strength of three members. Other members of the panel are CEC Sushil Chandra and Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar.
  • It will now which will now oversee upcoming crucial assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Punjab, Manipur and Uttarakhand in 2022.


He retired from civil services in August 2019. He had served as Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh under Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. He also worked as the Infrastructure and Industrial Development Commissioner of UP.

About Election Commission (ECI)

ECI is an autonomous constitutional authority that administers Union & State election processes in India. It was established on January 25, 1950 in accordance with constitution under article 324. It also administers elections to Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, State Legislative Assemblies, President and Vice President. It is not concerned with elections to panchayats and municipalities. A separate State Election Commission is there to administer Panchayat & Municipality election.

About CEC

CEC and Election Commissioner are appointed by President for a fixed tenure of six years or till 65 years of age. They have same status, salary and perks as is available to Judges of Supreme Court of India.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *