29 journalists conferred Matri Shree Media Awards

29 journalists from both print and electronic media were felicitated with Matri Shree Media Awards for their contribution towards journalism in New Delhi.

Key Highlights

This year was the 44th edition of Matri Shree media award. This time apart from media personalities, a social activist was also presented Bharat Mata shield at 44th Matri Shree media award ceremony.

The awardees were presented the Matri Shree Bharat Mata shield and a pen by Swadesh Bhushan Jain, Working President of Punjab Kesari (Delhi) and Ashok Aggarwal, chairman of committee.

2019 Winners: include Durga Pasad Mishra (PTI photo journalist), Agraj Pratap Singh of UNI, Jitender Kumar of Univarta, Namita (PTI Bhasha), Poonam Gaur (Navbharat Times), Kunal Kashyap (Punjab Kesari), Sandeep Ashwario Chief Cartoonist (Times of India) and Ravi Bhushan Dwivedi (Sandhya Times).

Other Awardees: Adesh Gupta, the former mayor of North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) was also awarded for his contribution to social service. Bollywood film Badhai Ho was also presented Bharat Mata shield.

About Matri Shree Media Awards

It is a series of awards which are felicitated for outstanding performance in different areas of journalism and related fields. The award was constituted during Emergency in India (1975) and since then it has been awarded annually to 25 outstanding candidates in print journalism as well electronic media. Since 2000, Indian filmmakers were also eligible to receive the prestigious awards.

The 1st recipient of award was journalist Lala Jagat Narayan.


Leave a Reply