21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship begins in Cuttack

Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship 2019 began at the Jawaharlal Indoor Stadium in Cuttack, Odisha. The tournament will be held from Wednesday 17th to Monday 22nd July 2019. 12 Nations are participating in 21st edition of CTTC. The event was inaugurated by Governor of Odisha Prof. Ganeshi Lal.

Key Highlights

The final list of nations that are competing in Table Tennis tournament include India, Malaysia, Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Cyprus, England, Nigeria, South Africa, Singapore, Wales and Scotland. The teams of Ghana, Guyana and Pakistan have pulled out at the last minute.



Group A: England, Sri Lanka, Cyprus

Group B: India, Scotland, Singapore

Group C: Nigeria, Malaysia, Bangladesh

Group D: Australia, South Africa, Wales


Group A: Singapore, Wales, Scotland

Group B: India, Sri Lanka, South Africa

Group C: Australia, Malaysia, Cyprus

Group D: Nigeria, England, Bangladesh

Format: allows two teams from each group to qualify for second stage.

On inaugural day of Tournament-

Men’s category

India defeated Scotland by 3-0 while England defeated Cyprus by 3-0.

Nigeria defeated Bangladesh by 3-0 and Australia defeated Wales by 3-0.

Women’s category

India defeated Srilanka by 3-0.

Australia defeated Cyprus by 3-0.

Nigeria defeated Bangladesh by 3-0.

About Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship

It was formed at meeting of Commonwealth delegates held in Munich, Germany at World Championships 1969. It was 1st staged in 1971 in Singapore.

CTTC 2019

It will be 21st edition of event and marks its 50 year anniversary.

Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) is hosting 2019 Commonwealth Championships.

India 1st staged tournament in Bombay (1982), Hyderabad (1994) and New Delhi (2001), Jaipur (2007), New Delhi (2013) and Surat (2015).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *