President appoints new Governors of Odisha and Mizoram

President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed Kummanam Rajasekharan as Governor of Mizoram and Prof Ganeshi Lal as Governor of Odisha under Article 153 of the Constitution. Kummanam Rajasekharan will replace Lt. General (Retd.) Nirbhay Sharma who completed his tenure on May 28, 2018. Prof Ganeshi Lal will take charge from Bihar Governor Satya Pal Malik had been given additional charge of Odisha.

Kummanam Rajasekharan

He was state president of Bharatiya Janata Party in Kerala (from 2015–2018). He started his political career as activist of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and Sangh Parivar in Kerala in 1970. He was instrumental in spearheading Kerala’s Vishva Hindu Parishad (VHP), Balasadanams, Kshetra Samrakshana Samiti and Ekal Vidyalayas. Prior to entering politics, he was working as journalist as sub-editor of Deepika newspaper and other news-dailies such as Rastravaartha, Kerala Desam, Kerala Bhooshanam, and Kerala Dwani. In 1976, he joined as government employee in Food Corporation of India (FCI).

Prof Ganeshi Lal

Ganeshi Lal was a professor of Mathematics before becoming member of RSS. He was minister in HVP-BJP government under Chief Minister Bansi Lal from 1996-99 in Haryana. He was former president of Haryana BJP unit. He was member of Haryana Legislative Assembly (1996-2000) from Sirsa Constituency.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state. But 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 facilitated the appointment of the same person as a governor for two or more states.
Article 156: Governor is appointed by President and hold office during the pleasure of President. It should be also noted that this article also mentions tenure of Governor. In this regard it says that Governor shall hold office for the term of 5 years from date he enters office.


Leave a Reply