Mayawati, the first CM to complete five years in U.P

Mayawati the BSP though has lost the Chair of CM in UP but she has the distinction of being the first CM of UP to have completed a full 5-year term.

In 2007 elections her party managed a simple majority of 206 in the 403-member Assembly and she became the CM for the 4th time in 2007, accomplishing the feat of former CMs Chandrabhanu Gupta and N.D. Tiwari of the Congress, who also held the post four times each. But none of the earlier 31 CMs of Uttar Pradesh could complete a 5-year term, not even stalwarts like Gobind Ballabh Pant, Sucheta Kriplani, V.P. Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Kalyan Singh and Mulayam Singh.


Leave a Reply