Border Gavaskar Trophy: India wins first test

The Border Gavaskar Trophy is conducted by the BCCI and Cricket Australia; and is played via ICC. This means the performances of the players in the match will be included in the ICC rankings. It is played between India and Australia. It is a test cricket series. India won the first test of the series. The first test was played at Nagpur. The test series was planned for 2022 but was postponed because of the T20 World Cup.

First Test

Four tests are to be conducted. This is the first test that was held in Nagpur India won the innings and 132 runs.

About Border Gavaskar Trophy

The match is being held since 1996. The frequency of the trophy is not as that of “The Ashes”. The Ashes is a test series conducted between England and Australia.


The current BCCI President is Roger Binny. GoI has very minimal regulation over the council. It does not receive any grants from the Sports Ministry. It was formed by state cricket associations in 1928. However, India’s cricket is controlled by BCCI. It is one of the richest cricket governing bodies in the world. Cricket Australia is the first richest body followed by the Cricket Board of England. And the third richest is the BCCI!




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *