PM invites people’s nominations for Padma Awards

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has invited people to send nominations for Padma Awards 2022. Padma Awards are announced every year on the eve of Republic Day.

About Padma Awards

Padma awards are the highest civilian honors in India. As of 2020, 3123 people have received them. These awards are conferred in three categories

  1. Padma Vibhushan- This award is given for exceptional and distinguished service,
  2. Padma Bhushan- It is given for distinguished service of higher order and
  3. Padma Shri- It is given to honor distinguished service.


Padma Awards were instituted in 1954. These are awarded to citizens of India to recognise their distinguished contribution across various spheres of activity such as education, arts, literature, industry, sports, science, medicine, social service and public affairs. It has also been awarded to some distinguished individuals who contributed to India in various ways but were not citizens of India.

Selection Criteria

Selection criteria have been criticized in India with the claim that many highly deserving artists have been left out while certain individuals have been favored. So, India has now created an online nomination platform for common citizens to recommend nomination for awards. Nominations are scrutinized by Padma Awards Committee, constituted by Prime Minister every year. Later, awards are presented on the recommendations of this Committee.

About the trophy

Words Padma (meaning lotus in Sanskrit) and Vibhushan, Bhushan & Shri finds its mention in Devanagari above and below a lotus flower on the medal. Geometrical pattern on either side is in burnished bronze while embossing is in gold.




Latest E-Books