Dilip Vengsarkar selected for C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2014

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar has been selected for Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award as part of Board of Control for Cricket in India’s annual awards. He has been conferred with this prestigious Lifetime achievement award for his contribution to Indian cricket.
Vengsarkar will be felicitated at BCCI’s annual awards on November 21, 2014. The award comprises a citation, trophy and cheque for Rs 25 lakhs. Vengsarkar is the 19th recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Last year, former Indian all-rounder Kapil Dev was conferred with this award. The likes of Sunil Gavaskar, Gundappa Viswanath, Ajit Wadekar, Salim Durrani and others have received this award in the past.

About Dilip Vengsarkar

  • Dilip Vengsarkar is also known by the nickname ‘Colonel’.
  • He was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 and the World Championship of Cricket in 1985. He had led India in ten Tests in 1987-89.
  • He was Chairman of the BCCI’s Talent Research Development Committee for three years, and the Chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the period, 2006-08.
  • For Test matches played in India, he has one of the highest batting averages.




Latest E-Books