Central Zone wins Duleep Trophy

The Central Zone team defeated the South Zone team to win the 2014 edition of the Duleep Trophy. The Central Zone team was led by Piyush Chawla, who helped clinch the narrow win. Of the total 13 games played by the five teams, the South Zone dominated 10 , but the 3 dominated by the Central Zone changed the game. The Central Zone beat the South Zone by a very small margin of 9 runs to claim the Trophy at the Ferozshah Kotla Ground in New Delhi.
The South Zone were chasing the Central Zone set-target of 301. On the last day of the match, the South Zone needed 117 runs with nine wickets intact. However, South Zone lost 7 wickets for just 39 runs, giving an easy win to the Central Zone

 About Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy is a domestic cricket competition which is played in India. The country is divided into five teams on the basis of geographical zones of India.
The Tournament was instituted in 1961-62 by BCCI. There are five teams: North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. The game follows the format of a 5 team knockout tournament.


The Duleep Trophy is named after Duleepsinh, who was an cricketer playing for England.
He was educated at Rajkumar College in Rajkot and later in Cheltenham College, Gloucestershire, England. While at Cheltenham, Duleepsinh was a popular batsman. He later went on to successfully play for Cambridge University, Sussex and the England team. However, his cricketing career was cut short due to recurrent illnesses.
Duleepsinhji’s uncle is Ranjitsinhji, after whom the Ranji Trophy is named. He also played cricket for England.



Latest E-Books