NDRF to raise 4 more battalions

The National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) will soon raise four more battalions, adding to existing 12. The four new battalions would be stationed in Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and NCR Delhi. These battalions be modernised to meet international standards. NDRF also has proposed to have exclusive women contingents within battalions to take care of women during times of distress.

National Disaster Response Reserve

NDRF has also provisioned revolving fund of Rs. 250 crore for NDRF to create National Disaster Response Reserve in all its battalions. The reserve will essentially have necessary relief material like readymade food, medicines, etc. to be distributed during distress in calamity-hit areas.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

NDRF is India’s elite disaster mitigation combat force established in 2006 under The Disaster Management Act, 2005. It is headquartered in New Delhi. It functions under Union Ministry of Home Affairs. It works under National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) which lays down policies, plans and guidelines for disaster management.
The mandated of specialized force is to undertake special disaster response, relief, rescue operations and combat roles independently in the case of an event of any disaster (natural or man-made), accident or emergency. It also assists local authorities in launching a quick rescue and response operation to save life and property. At present there are 12 battalions in NDRF which are deployed strategically across country to provide immediate response.




Latest E-Books