E-Passport introduced By Bangladesh

Bangladesh became the first country in South Asia on Wednesday, 22nd January 2020 to introduce the E-Passport service. The e-Passports are now initially being issued from three offices — Uttara, Jatrabari and Agargaon — of the Department of Immigration and Passports in Dhaka. These offices have the capacity to issue 25,000 passports every day.

Bangladesh is the 119th country in the world to introduce e-passports. The event was organized and took place at the e-Passport services and automated border control management at a programme at the Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC) at Dhaka. The service of e-Passport and automated border control management project is being implemented by the DIP and German company Veridos GmbH with assistance from the Bangladesh Army under the Security Services Division of the Home Ministry. The validity of e-Passport will be five years and 10 years. Presently 490 million e-Passports are in circulation and a total of 30 million e-Passports will be delivered in 10 years under the project.



Latest E-Books