Seven States Achieved 10% of the target for Jal Jeevan Mission in 2020-21

As per the data released by the Ministry of Jal Shakti, Government of India, seven states, Bihar, Telangana, Maharashtra, Haryana, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh and Mizoram have already been able to achieve 10% of the target household tap connections fixed for the whole year for these states. Other states such as Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Odisha and Manipur have also shown considerable progress during this period of time.

This is testimony to the fact that the states are committed to providing basic services to the people residing in their jurisdiction under the Jal Jeevan Mission Flagship Program of the government.


  • Out of 18.93 crore rural households in the country, 4.60 crores have been provided tap connections under the Jal Jeevan Program. The remaining 14.33 crore households will also be provided with tap connections in a time-bound manner.
  • The states /UTs are providing tap connections at the rate of more than one lakh connections daily.
  • A total sum of Rs 23500 crore has been allocated for the implementation of the Jal Jeevan Mission for 2020-21. Apart from that, the Finance Mission has also earmarked 50% of the total funds to the rural bodies for water connection and sanitation.
  • The objective of the scheme is to provide tap connections to every rural household in the country by 2024.

Jal Jeevan Mission

Implemented by the Ministry of Jal Shakti, JJM is a joint initiative of the central government and the state governments. Under this scheme, potable water in adequate quantity is being provided to the households through tap connections. The program is being monitored on a day-to-day basis now.

Various states have come out with their individual guidelines for completion of the Jal Jeevan Mission. Bihar, Goa and Puducherry will complete this by 2021 whereas Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Meghalaya, Punjab, Sikkim and Uttar Pradesh will complete this mission by 2022. Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura are expected to finish this mission by 2023 whereas the rest of the states will finish the mission in 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *