GoI launches paperless licensing of petroleum service stations

On January 20, 2020, the Department of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) announced that it has launched paperless licensing process for petroleum service stations. The paperless licensing has been launched under Petroleum Rules, 2002. The implementing agency of the order would be Petroleum and Explosives Safety Organization (PESO).


The issue of paperless license for road tankers was launched earlier this month. After its launch, 300 licenses have been issued so far. With the paperless licensing being extended for petroleum service stations, it will benefit more than 70,000 pumps and oil marketing companies. Also, the move is important because, of all the licenses the road tankers and petroleum service station licenses account to more than 85%. Therefore, this will benefit in decreasing the transit time of fuel as a greater number of vehicles can easily be employed in the process.


PESO is a department formed under DPIIT and both the bodies work under Ministry of Commerce and Industry. PESO administers the following acts

  • Explosive Act, 1884
  • Petroleum Act 1934
  • Explosive Substance Act
  • Inflammable Substance Act 1952
  • Environment Protection Act 1986

It controls the export, import, storage, transport and usage of explosive materials.

The authority has framed several rules such as Explosive rules, 2008, petroleum rules, 2002, Gas Cylinder rules 2002, Calcium carbide rules, 1987, Ammonium nitrate rules, etc.


Leave a Reply