Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award

Award Information

  • Type: Civilian
  • Instituted: 1992
  • First Awarded: 1992
  • Awarded by: All India Congress Committee
  • Cash Award: Rs. 5 Lakh


Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award (Rajiv Gandhi National Communal Harmony Award) is an Indian award given for outstanding contribution towards promotion of communal harmony, national integration and peace. The award was instituted by All India Congress Committee of the Indian National Congress Party (INC), in 1992 to commemorate the lasting contribution made by the former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, carries a citation and a cash award of Rs. 5 Lakhs. It is given on August 20, the birth anniversary of Rajiv Gandhi, which is celebrated as Sadbhavna Diwas (Harmony Day)


Year    Recipients

1996    Lata Mangeshkar ,singer

1998    Sunil Dutt,Peace activist, politician

2000    Kapila Vatsyayan, Scholar

2003    S. N. Subba Rao, Peace activist

2004    Swami Agnivesh, Social activist

2005    Nirmala Deshpande, Social activist

2006    Hem Dutta, Social activist

2007    N Radhakrishnan, Social activist

2008    Gautam Bhai, Social activist

2009    Wahiduddin Khan, Islamic scholar, peace activist

2011    SPIC MACAY, Promotes Indian classical music and culture among the youth




In 1977, Prof. Kiran Seth set up SPIC MACAY (Society for the Promotion of Indian Classical Music and Culture amongst Youth), a non-profit voluntary youth movement, which now has around 250 chapters nationwide.




Latest E-Books


  • narendra kumar choudhary

    Hi, the prize money for Rajeev Gandhi Rastriya sadbhavna award is 10 lakh…so plz update it.