Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur Committee: 7th Pay Central Commission constituted

The Central Government constituted the 7th Central Pay Commission under the chairmanship of Mr. Ashok Kumar Mathur, a retired Supreme Court judge and retired chairman of Armed Forces Tribunal.
Objective: To revise the salary structure of Union government employees from both civil and military services.

  • Secretary of the ministry of petroleum and natural gas Mr. Vivek Rae will be a full-time member of the Commission.
  • Dr Rathin Roy, director of the National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, will be a part-time member.
  • Ms. Meena Agarwal, officer on special duty in the department of expenditure, will be the secretary of the Commission.
  • The panel will submit its report in two years and the recommendations would be implemented from Jan 1, 2016. 

The Central Government constitutes Pay Commission almost every ten years to revise the pay scales of its employees and often these are adopted by states after some modification.

  • The 6th Central Pay Commission under the Chairmanship of B.N.Srikrishna was approved in July 2006.The 5th Pay Commission was implemented with effect from January 1, 1996 and fourth from January 1, 1986.
  • The 1st pay commission was constituted under the Chairmanship of Srinivasa Varadachariar in May 1946 and its report was submitted by 1947.

The first commission was based upon the idea of living wages to the employees, which was taken by the Islington Commission.



Latest E-Books