Government constitutes Amitabh Kant Commitee to convert 100% Govt-Citizen Transactions to digital platform

The Government has constituted a Committee led by NITI Aayog to enable 100% conversion of Government-Citizen Transactions to the digital Platform. Conversion of transactions to the digital platform is expected to weed out black money and corruption from public life. The committee will be headed by NITI Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant and will include Secretary, Department of Financial Services, Ministry of Finance; Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology; Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion; Secretary, Department of Investment and public Asset Management; MD & CEO, National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI); Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development; Chairman, National Highways Authority of India; and Adviser, NITI Aayog as members.

The committee has been mandated to identify and operationalize user-friendly digital payment options for all sectors of the economy in the least possible time frame. The committee is also required to identify and access infrastructural and bottlenecks hampering the access and utility of various digital payment systems. To promote rapid adoption of digital payment systems, the committee will regularly engage with Central Ministries, regulators, State governments, district administration, local bodies, trade and industry associations etc. It will also establish and monitor an implementation framework to enable nearly 80% of the transaction in India to happen in the digital-only platform.

Further, the committee will implement an action plan on advocacy, awareness and organize training and capacity building for various stakeholders like states/UTs, Ministries/Departments, representatives of States/UTs, Trade and Industry Bodies etc.