Difficult Four Countries

The Chatham House recently published a report proposing a blueprint for foreign policy of UK after Brexit. The report classed India as one of the “difficult four” countries along with China, Saudi Arabia and Turkey.

Key Highlights of the report

  • The report was titled “Global Britain, Global Broker”.
  • The report points that the complex fragmented domestic politics in India makes it one of the countries resistant to open trade and foreign investment.
  • The report raises concerns over pursuance of India in extreme right-winged policies.
  • With Indian politics entering ethno-nationalist phase, D10 coalition might end up as D9 damaging the relations between India and UK. Ethnonationalism is a form of nationalism where the nation and nationality are defined in terms of ethnicity.
  • The report criticizes India for its diplomatic behaviour. According to the report, India did not join the group of countries that criticized China at the United Nations General Assembly held in 2019. The UN Members criticized China for its human rights violations in Xinjiang. Also, India stayed silent over the National Security Law in Hong Kong.

Implication of India as a Difficult Four countries

By grouping India as one of the Difficult Four countries, UK has destined India to count among its rivals or awkward counterparts as it pursued global goals.

Chatham House

The Chatham House is also called the Royal Institute of International Affairs. The Chatham House aims to promote debate on significant developments in international affairs and policy responses. It is usually used as a source of information by experts on matters involving major international issue.


The D10 group of countries was proposed by Britain. The D10 group will include all the G7 countries and additionally India, Australia and South Korea. D10 means Ten biggest democracies in the world.




Latest E-Books