Assam Assembly passed bill to protect State’s Heritage Sites

Assam assembly passed bills for creation of three autonomous councils which included Moran, Motok and Kamtapur Autonomous Council. These proposals were made by the government after the height of Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) protest.

The assembly passing the proposal has led celebrations in some areas. The Bills were passed in the 4-day Assembly Session that commenced from 31st August 2020. The bills are being termed as a ‘historic’ step towards implementing the Clause 6 of Assam Accord. The bill has been drafted by the Directorate of Archaeology, under the guidance of State Cultural Affairs (Archeology) Minister Keshab Mahanta.

Clause 6 of Assam Accord

Under the clause, the state government is empowered to take necessary steps to ensure constitutional, legislative and administrative safeguards, as may be appropriate, that shall be provided to protect, preserve and promote the culture, social, linguistic identity and heritage of the Assamese people.

Tangible Heritage Covered under the new Bill

This covers various museum objects like coins, sculptures, manuscripts, epigraphs or other work of art and craftsmanship and all cultural artefacts of indigenous people. In addition to this, heritage sites such as xatras, monasteries, stupas, naamghars, masjids, dargahs, and churches besides socio-cultural institutions and habitation structures having traditional architectures as well as monuments and their precincts will also be covered under the new law. As per the provisions of the Bill, all the artefacts covered under tangible heritage that have been in existence for a minimum of 75 years and are not covered under the Assam Ancient Monuments and Records Act, 1959, will be protected under the new law.


Leave a Reply