President’s Tatrakshak Medal (PTM)

On August 15, 2022, President Droupadi Murmu approved around 107 gallantry awards for the armed forces and Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF). It comprises of 3 Kirti Chakras and 13 Shaurya Chakras. Apart from that, 81 Sena Medals, 1 Nao Sena Medal and 2 Bar to Sena medals were also announced.

Key Points:

  • 40 Mention-in-Despatches for Indian Army, 1 to for Indian Air Force and another for Army Dog Axel (posthumously) was also approved by the President, to honour their significant contributions in military operations like Operation Tirkit and Operation Snow Leopard.
  • Kirti Chakra was awarded to Naik Devendra Pratap Singh from the Army, for his courage and devotion in eliminating two hardcore terrorists at Pulwama.
  • Shaurya Chakra was awarded to 8 Army personnel, including two posthumously. It was also awarded to one personnel from Indian Navy.
  • Out of 8 Shaurya Chakra awardees, 2 are from Para Special Forces while rest were from Rashtriya Rifles in Kashmir Valley.
  • All Shaurya awards were given for conducting counter-terror and counter-insurgency operations in Jammu & Kashmir.
  • Kirti Chakra was awarded posthumously to Constable Sudip Sarkar and sub-inspector Paotinsat Guite from BSF, for their bravery away from the battle field.

President’s Tatrakshak Medal

On the occasion, President also approved 3 Tatrakshak Medals (TM) to Coast Guard personnel, to honour their acts of conspicuous gallantry, meritorious service and exceptional devotion to duty. It is a military decoration, that is presented for selfless devotion and distinguished service in Indian Coast Guard. President of India confers the award on the occasion of national celebrations, Republic Day and Independence Day.




Latest E-Books