Pakistan: Pak wins UNSC Non-permanent seat

129 out of 193 votes in the UN General Assembly, exactly the two-third majority required to win the seat and India voted in favour of Pakistan.

  • Thus, this would be the seventh time Pakistan would serve on the Security Council, and the fourth time its term would overlap with India. India won its latest two-year term by securing a landslide 187 votes. Pakistan’s principal opponent in the Asia-Pacific region, Kyrgyzstan, won just 55. Guatemala and Morocco were the other members who joined the 15-member Security Council. There will be a second round of voting for two more seats.

India, which is already serving as a non-permanent member for the 2011-12 term voted for Pakistan, the two sides having made common cause on many issues at the UN, except Kashmir. Pakistan’s term will run from 2012-2013, overlapping with India for one year. Pakistan said that India had played a “major” role in supporting its successful bid to become a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council.



Latest E-Books