Categorisation of CDRI as international Organisation

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister has approved to categorize the Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) as an “International Organization”.


  • The Headquarters Agreement (HQA) was also signed with CDRI. This agreement will grant it the exemptions, immunities and privileges in accordance with the United Nations (Privileges & Immunities) Act, 1947.
  • Both of these things will provide CDRI an independent and international legal persona in order for it to carry out its functions internationally in efficient way.

How will these agreements help CDRI?

  • It will help the CDRI in deputing experts to countries which are vulnerable to disaster risk and seek for post disaster recovery. It will also bring in experts from member countries to India for similar purposes.
  • CDRI can deploying funds at global level and receive contributions from member countries for its activities.
  • It will be able to assist countries to develop resilient infrastructure by providing technical expertise to them.
  • It will provide an opportunity to Indian scientific and technical institution and infrastructure developers to interact with global experts. It will help in building our own capacities and mechanisms to support disaster resilient infrastructure development.
  • CDRI will be able to provide all possible support to member countries in upgrading their systems to ensure disaster and climate resilience of existing and future infrastructure in aligning with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Paris Climate Agreement and the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction.

About CDRI

CDRI was launched in 2019 at the United Nations Climate Action Summit. It is an initiative of government of India. It aims at increasing the resilience of infrastructure systems to climate and disaster risk, CDRI is a global coalition of UN agencies, National governments, multilateral development banks and financing mechanisms, academic and research institutions and the private sector.

Members of CDRI

Members of CDRI include 31 countries, 6 international organisations and 2 private sector organisations. 6 International Organisations include Asian Development Bank (ADB), United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), World Bank Group), European Union, European Investment Bank, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR). Two Private Sector Organisations include Private Sector Alliance for Disaster Resilient Societies and Coalition for Climate Resilient Investment.




Latest E-Books