Lativa becomes the 18th state to join the Eurozone

The Baltic nation, Latvia joined the Euro Zone, with the expectation that the euro will lower its borrowing costs and encourage investors by eliminating currency risk. It became the 18th member of the European Union, which uses the Euro as its currency and the fourth smallest economy in the euro zone after Malta, Estonia and Cyprus.
The euro switchover ceremony took place at a site where Latvia’s crisis began – the former headquarters of the collapsed Parex bank, now headquarters of state-owned Citatele bank, which emerged from Parex’s ruins. The official conversion rate is 1 EUR = 0.702804 LVL.
About the Euro

  • Established by the provisions in the 1992 Maastricht Treaty.
  • Central bank: European Central Bank.
  • Official currency of the Eurozone.
  • The Eurozone is an economic and monetary union (EMU) of 18 European Union (EU) member states that have adopted the euro (€) as their common currency and sole legal tender.
  • Member states: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

Latvia joined the Eurozone on January 1, 2014.



Leave a Reply