Deferential Action for Childhood Arrivals

The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) is the US’ immigration policy that allows undocumented immigrants who were brought into the country as children to receive a renewable 2-year period of deferred action from deportation and become eligible for a work permit within the US. The Trump Administration had tried ending this Obama-era programme in 2017. Recently, a federal court has ordered the full reinstatement of this programme – a ruling that would help a large number of Indian immigrants.

What are the recent developments?

The Trump Administration in 2017 tried to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals. However, it has now been blocked by the recent federal court order. On December 4, 2020, a US District Judge directed the Department of Homeland Security to extend the renewals of DACA recipients by two years. This means that since 2017, new applicants who were not eligible may now apply for the programme that shields undocumented immigrants.

What is Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals?

It is an American immigration policy that was introduced by the Obama government in 2012. It allows individuals who had entered the American soil illegally as minors to receive renewable 2 year period of deferred action from deportation. Under this they are also eligible for a work permit. The DACA has helped more than 8 lacks of beneficiaries.

Key Features of DACA

  • Recipient of DACA should not have criminal records.
  • They must be 30 years old or younger at the time of launch of DACA.  They should have been 16 years younger when they were brought to the United States.
  • DACA does not provide legal Residency. It will only prevent from deportation.
  • Majority of the DACA recipients are from Mexico.

DACA is different from the DREAMS Act. DREMAS Act is Development, Relief and Education for Alien Minors Act. The act aims to grant temporary conditional residency to the immigrants.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *