UK bans sale of five invasive non-native aquatic plants

The British Government, for the first time, has declared to impose a ban over the sale of five species of invasive non-native aquatic plants.

Why this ban?

According to UK’s Non-Native Species Secretariat (NNSS) invasive species are plants or animals that had been introduced (deliberately or accidentally) by humans since the last ice age, which were having a detrimental impact on the economy, wildlife or habitats of Britain.

As per Ecologists, the alien species when leak into the wild damage the local ecology by creating problems such as forming dense mats in water, depleting oxygen and light availability, causing declines in the numbers of fish and other aquatic species. They also pose threat to native species. The non-native aquatic weed plants also contribute to increased flood risk and damaged structures such as bridges. They grow rapidly, choking up canals and rivers, which affects wildlife spots and creates problems with navigation. The UK government spends around £1.7bn each year to tackle the impact of invasive species.

Which are the 5 plants to be banned?

The plants to be banned from April 2014 are:

  • · Water fern
  • · Parrot’s feather
  • · Floating pennywort
  • · Water primrose
  • · Australian swamp stonecrop



Latest E-Books