S Sivakumar appointed as full time member of 21st Law Commission of India

The Union Government has appointed S. Sivakumar as a full-time Member of the 21st Law Commission of India (LCI).
He is the professor at the Indian Law Institute (ILI) in New Delhi. He hails from Kerala and has authored several books on law.
He specialises in Administrative Law and Media Law. His areas of interests include Constitutional Law, IPR, Human Rights, ADR and Clinical Legal Education.  He is a recipient of the National Law Day Award in 2008.
21st Law Commission of India (LCI)
Union Government had constituted 21st LCI for period of 3 years with effect from 1 September 2015 to 31 August 2018. Former Supreme Court (SC) judge Justice Balbir Singh Chauhan is Chairman of the commission.
The mandate of the 21st LCI is to give major recommendations on a review of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), the criminal justice system and the bail law in order to ensure uniformity in the procedure of granting the relief. It will also give recommendations on viability of the Uniform Civil Code and repealing of obsolete laws.

About Law Commission of India (LCI)

  • The LCI is a non-statutory and non-constitutional body constituted by the Union Government from time to time.
  • The first commission was constituted in 1955 and since then various commissions were re-constituted every three years.
  • It is usually headed by a retired Supreme Court judge or former Chief Justice of a high court.
  • So far, various Law Commissions have submitted 262 reports to make important contribution towards codification and progressive development of laws of the country.



Latest E-Books